مبادرة "أرى"

مبادرة "أرى"

English

تقدم مبادرة "أرى" الدعم للأطفال المكفوفين وضعاف البصر والذين يعانون إعاقات بصرية تمنعهم من قراءة المطبوعات. وتتبنى المبادرة مجموعة أهداف تعكس في مضمونها المَهام المنصوص عليها في معاهدة مراكش 2013، والخاصة بتوفير الكتب على نطاق أوسع لهذه الفئة وبتنسيقات يسهل عليهم استخدامها.

يسعى برنامج هذه المبادرة إلى إحداث تطوير وتنمية واسعة في قدرات الأطفال المعرفية وإلمامهم بالقراءة والكتابة عبر توفير كتب ومطبوعات بتنسيقات مختلفة؛ مثل الكتب المطبوعة بطريقة "برايل"، والكتب المطبوعة بحروف كبيرة، والكتب الصوتية، والكتب الإلكترونية بصيغة EPUB. كما يعمل البرنامج على تعريف الناشرين بالتقنيات والأدوات المستخدمة في صناعة الكتب الميسّرة.

وتمثّلُ ندرةُ الكتب العربية الميسّرة إحدى أبرز الصعوبات التي تواجهها فئة اليافعين والأطفال المكفوفين وضعاف البصر ومعلّميهم في بلدان منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمالي وشرقي أفريقيا؛ إذ كشف استطلاع إقليمي أجري بين العامين 2018 و 2019، وشمل 20 دولة، عن تنامٍ كبير في حاجة الأطفال إلى القصص وكتب التاريخ والعلوم والفنون واللغات الأجنبية، وقد نجحت مبادرة "أرى" حتى نهاية العام 2020 في إنتاج 30,000 ألف كتاب ميسّر، وُزّعَ منها 5 آلاف كتاب على الجهات المعنية محلياً وإقليمياً وعالمياً.

نحن نركز دائماً على تعزيز شبكة علاقاتنا المهنية وبناء شراكات فعالة تدعم توجّهنا نحو الإنتاج المستدام للمحتوى وإصدار الكتب والمطبوعات ذات الصلة. ومن أبرز هذه الشراكات- على سبيل المثال لا الحصر- اتفاقية التعاون التي أبرمناها مع "اتحاد الكتب الميسّرة" لنكون بذلك أول مؤسسة على مستوى المنطقة تنظم ورش عمل تدريبية متخصصة للناشرين العرب بهدف تزويدهم بالآليات والتقنيات اللازمة لإصدار كتب إلكترونية ميسّرة بصيغة (Epub3). وتمتاز هذه التقنية بفوائد عديدة؛ مثل إمكان القراءة بصوت مرتفع، والتفاعل مع النص، ووضع علامات لتحديد الصفحة التي وصل إليها القارئ في الكتاب، والبحث في جدول المحتويات، إلى جانب توافقها مع برامج تحويل النص إلى كلام، وإمكان استخدامها في مختلف أنواع الأجهزة الإلكترونية.

كما تهدف مبادرة "أرى" إلى زيادة الوعي العام بقضايا الأطفال ضعاف البصر في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمالي وشرقي أفريقيا، وإبراز أهمية الجهود الموجّهة نحو تعزيز اندماجهم في مجتمعاتهم. في هذا السياق، تخصص مؤسسة "كلمات" موارد كبيرة لتطوير المبادئ والمعايير وإعداد دراسات حالة لدعم وضع سياسات تركز بشكل أكبر على الاهتمام بالأطفال المكفوفين وضعاف البصر على المستويين الإقليمي والدولي.

لمزيد من التفاصيل حول الدول والمنظمات والأطفال المستفيدين من مبادرة "أرى" اضغط هنا

أجرينا دراسة استقصائية إقليمية بيّنت أن نحو20,000 طفل وشاب عربي ممن يعانون إعاقات بصرية يتوزعون في أكثر من 200 حضانة ومدرسة ومركز مُجتمعي ومكتبة ومؤسسة وجمعية خيرية ومنظمة غير حكومية.
كما كشفت الدراسة أن أكثر من نصف المؤسسات يجري تمويلها من قبل الحكومات حصراً، وأن 4 من كل 10 مؤسسات تعتمد على التمويل أو التبرعات من مؤسسات القطاع الخاص، فيما تحتاج المؤسسات الأخرى الباقية إلى الدعم المالي من مصادر عديدة.
وتندرج الروايات والقصص وكتب الشعر والفنون والعلوم والرياضيات ضمن أكثر الكتب طلباً في المنظمات والمؤسسات المعنية بتلبية احتياجات المعاقين بصرياً، وهناك طلبٌ مُتنامٍ على كلا النوعين التقليديين؛ أي طباعة "برايل" والتقنيات الجديدة (مؤسسة كلمات 2019).

شركائنا



Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami

ARA

ARA INITIATIVE

العربية

The Ara initiative supports blind and visually impaired children, by facilitating the production of accessible Arabic content, to help them learn and integrate better into society. Its objectives reflect the mandate set out in the 2013 Marrakesh Treaty, on the availability of books in accessible formats, for the blind, the visually impaired, and those who have print disabilities.

Ara as a programme exists to help develop capabilities in literacy by providing reading content in formats including print braille, large print, audio and accessible EPUB books. It also works to educate publishers in born accessible technologies and workflows.

A main concern expressed by blind and visually impaired youngsters and their educators, is a dearth of available and accessible Arabic literary content. A regional survey conducted across 20 countries in 2018 and 2019, has evidenced a need for children’s stories, as well as books on history, the sciences, the arts and foreign languages. Up to the end of 2020, Ara facilitated the production of 30,000 accessible books, 5,000 of which have been distributed, locally, regionally and internationally.

We seek further to build formative networks and partnerships, to allow for the sustained production of content. Our cooperative agreement with the Accessible Book Consortium for example, means that we are the first organisation in the region to facilitate training and technical workshops for Arab publishers, enabling them to produce books in accessible EPUB3 formats. The benefit in this technology includes the likes of read aloud functionality and compatibility with text-to-speech programmes, interactivity with text, built in bookmarks, navigation through tables of content, and flexibility in its use on a variety of electronic devices.

Another complimentary purpose in Ara is to raise public awareness on visually disabled children in communities across the Middle East, North and East Africa, to support integration. In this regard, Kalimat Foundation dedicates considerable resources for the development of baselines, benchmarks and case studies to aid policymaking, in the local, regional and international context, to better serve blind and visually impaired youth.

For details on countries, organisations, and children reached that have benefitted from the Ara Initiative CLICK HERE
Regionally, we have accounted for around 20,000 registered visually impaired Arabic speaking children and youngsters, in over 200 kindergartens, schools, community centres, libraries, associations, charities
and NGOs.
Just over half the organisations surveyed, are funded solely by governments. 4 in 10 rely on private financing or donations. The rest state a need for financial support from multiple sources.
Novels, stories, poetry, books on the arts, science and math are amongst those most in demand with organisations catering to the visually disabled. With respect to formats, both traditional types such as braille, and new technologies are in demand. (Kalimat Foundation 2019).

PARTNERS



Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami